Finally – visible action in the warre window.

5 May

There were a few weeks where I couldn’t go out and check on the girls – I was traveling, the weather was bad, that sort of thing – but last weekend I was able to finally see them!  They’re working on building out the box they’re supposed to be building out, phew.

They’re busily building building.  I haven’t seen the queen yet, although with this type of hive – obviously, you’re not doing frame inspection, so seeing her walking around would be pure luck and pretty darn unlikely.  I can’t wait until the comb is up against the windows and I can see what’s going into the cells.

The times I’ve peeked in since I took that picture, the comb has been so much more covered with bees, so that I can’t really see it.  Although the feeder was totally empty and dry that day, which means that more bees were out looking for food.  The times I’ve checked with the feeder fuller, the comb has been more covered.  I sort of can’t believe that they’re still sucking down the sugar syrup – but I’ve been told that building comb takes lots of energy – so maybe they will still for a while.

 

 

Maybe next time I go out there, I’ll video what’s going on.  I’ll be able to see again Monday.

Oh, also – got my first swarm call on Thursday.  I was super sad not to be able to go to it, I had a shoot in Nashua.  Apparently it was an afterswarm from the home owners’ hive – they’d rehived the first swarm but didn’t have the equipment to deal with this one.

Oh – I forgot – I saw a bee on the outside of my hive the other day that was a different color than I’m used to seeing – blacker all over.  I wonder if the bees being born from this queen are going to be a different color pattern or if it was another neighborhood bee stopping by to say – hi.  I can’t imagine they’d have let her sit there if she didn’t belong, though.

Hilariously, one of my neighbors (she lives downstairs and right after install, all of the dead/dying bees who didn’t transition well were turning up on her covered patio) said she saw my bees down at the corner store going through the trash.  She recognized them because they’re a different color than the feral bees that live down the street.  Girls, I’m feeding you good stuff!  Don’t go picking through the trash!

Leave a Reply

The Vermont Sail Freight Project

A Sailing Cargo Initiative Connecting the Farms and Forests of Vermont with the Lower Hudson Valley

Borrowed Stilts

Let's not fail everything, shall we?

Sweet Honey in the Rox

Home in the City, Heart in Vermont - trying to find a wild medium.

mistress beek

Urban beekeeping

The Curious Quilter

Curiosity breeds creativity. What are you curious about?

New Urban Habitat

Simple. Healthy. Sustainable.

EverydayOrdinary

Afterthoughts...

