More bee-feeder-in-action shots.

21 Feb

We had a warm day and the two bees who were at the feeder must have told their friends about it, because there were 20 or so at a time on the feeder the other day.

 

I tried to see where they might be living – I got a general direction but then lost them.  It’s supposed to be warm for the next few days, so I’m hoping to see more of them and maybe get a better idea of where they’re coming from.  I have this secret hope that I’ll keep feeding them and help their hive strengthen and grow and that they’ll swarm and come live in my yard.  I care so much about them.

Marla is building me a warre style hive for my birthday, but I’ve been snooping around online to see if anyone will build be a Kenyan Top Bar as well.  I’m going to put the bees I bought in the warre, but in my secret plan – I’ll put the KTBH in the garden and bees will take up residence…and then I’ll have my purchased queen in a refined hive and name her Beatrice and I’ll have my feral queen in a little more rustic hive and name her Hippolyte….and I’ll keep their honey separated and see if there’s a difference.  This is crazy right?

Leave a Reply

The Vermont Sail Freight Project

A Sailing Cargo Initiative Connecting the Farms and Forests of Vermont with the Lower Hudson Valley

Borrowed Stilts

Let's not fail everything, shall we?

Sweet Honey in the Rox

Home in the City, Heart in Vermont - trying to find a wild medium.

mistress beek

Urban beekeeping

The Curious Quilter

Curiosity breeds creativity. What are you curious about?

New Urban Habitat

Simple. Healthy. Sustainable.

EverydayOrdinary

Afterthoughts...

