Some Bee Stuff

14 Feb

I have been slowly gearing up this month in anticipation of the arrival of my bees on April 2nd.  So far I have a bunch of little things:

I don’t intend for the smoker to be a regular part of my practice, but I wanted to have one – especially at first, I know I’ll be nervous a lot and want the back up.  I’m going to try to light it and play with it in a day or so.  I’m also modeling a $150 bee suit I found on eBay for $50 because it has “blemishes” – I’ll take blemishes.  I also already had a spray bottle and a pocket knife – which will go in my kit.

In that same batch of ordering, I got a pair of baby chick watering bases so that I could make water stations for my bees.  Then when I was out in the yard the other day, I saw bees flying around looking for things and so I put it together and voila – drinking bees!

Which made me so happy that I’ve been stalking the weather since then, hoping for a 45 degree day that I’d be home during the day for.  Tomorrow might fit that bill – but it looks like Wednesday definitely will.

One Response to “Some Bee Stuff”

  1. kfricker September 19, 2012 at 10:21 pm #

    Take it easy Bee suit. Gotta have fun.

Leave a Reply

The Vermont Sail Freight Project

A Sailing Cargo Initiative Connecting the Farms and Forests of Vermont with the Lower Hudson Valley

Borrowed Stilts

Let's not fail everything, shall we?

Sweet Honey in the Rox

Home in the City, Heart in Vermont - trying to find a wild medium.

mistress beek

Urban beekeeping

The Curious Quilter

Curiosity breeds creativity. What are you curious about?

New Urban Habitat

Simple. Healthy. Sustainable.

EverydayOrdinary

Afterthoughts...

